Signs and Messages: Play A Song On The Radio

Posted on

I was surfing through iTunes looking at music when I came across a song that reminded me of an Afterlife Communication with Derek that I thought I would share

August 2012

I had taken off about a month from work when Derek passed. And upon return, every night I would get into the car to commute back home, the song “I Will Always Love You” by Whitney Houston would play. It didn’t matter what station or time I started the car, 6PM, 7:30PM or on the rare occasion 4PM, as soon as I turned the ignition Whitney was starting her song.

I had heard before that our loved ones would use the radio as a method of communication. And while it had always been a favorite song of mine, in that moment, I didn’t want to listen to lyrics that made me feel that Derek had to leave to let me move forward and get something in life that I was missing. I was happy and wasn’t missing anything in life except now my twin soul and my future life and family.

After the 10th time of that song playing, I put the car in park and screamed “Enough! This is not the message I want to hear. I don’t want a song from the Top 20 playlist of songs that spirits can send to their loved ones, I want the song that Derek sends to Val to let her know it will be okay. Because I am not ok.”

The next day, I got into the car bracing myself to listen to Whitney again, but this time another song floated in the air. It wasn’t a happy song but it was a true song — a letter from his heart to mine. It would be the one of the beginnings to many radio messages I would receive from Derek. But in that moment I knew that he was okay and listening.

 

3 thoughts on “Signs and Messages: Play A Song On The Radio

    Crysta Icore said:
    February 26, 2013 at 4:47 pm

    Reblogged this on Dancing with Fireflies and commented:
    I think I need to pay more attention to those songs on the radio. When Lance first passed, I would hear a couple songs that just slammed home to me and I just couldn’t listen to them. Perhaps I needed to listen a little closer.

    Helen Connors Nipitella said:
    December 9, 2013 at 2:30 pm

    i worked with Derek at Website Q , he was my boss. However, we became friends. and I grew to love him. He also became friends with my children. When my husband died, he was there for me and always watched out for me. I had seen him a few times after we parted ways when the company closed, but lost touch. In truth, I had been looking for him , trying to find him but to no avail. I was unaware he passed away. My heart is so sad to hear. He was so young and so sweet. and I must say that at least he died knowing he was loved and he loved. You don’t know me, but I knew him. and I am grateful for that. I send a prayer up to heaven to him , and send my deepest sorrows to you. I am so very , very sorry. God Bless Derek, and God Bless you.
    i have wondered about him for so long, now, I know he is with the angels and he was loved and not alone. He was a great man. I was blessed to have known him. ❤

      Val responded:
      December 9, 2013 at 8:57 pm

      Thank you Helen for your wonderful note. One of the many reasons I post to this blog is in hopes of finding and connecting with friends and relatives of Derek who have lost contact and it seems that this blog has “found” its way to you. It will be a year and half on Wednesday…I still find myself in shock at times. But stories like this and others always warm my heart. I would love to hear more if you ever have time…you can find me in Facebook. Thank you again sending love and light to you and to your family. ❤

Leave a Reply

